Basic Information about the Laboratory:

Superconductive metamaterials are synthetic structures with unique electromagnetic features not existing in natural materials. The key areas of studies performed by the laboratory are experimental tests of electromagnetic features of superconductive metamaterials in the range of ultra-high frequencies with the use of one- and bidimensional structures.

Activities of the Laboratory:

The laboratory was established in 2011 after NUST MISiS won the tender of megagrants held by the Ministry of Education and Science of the Russian Federation. The laboratory examines physical properties of such superconductive metamaterials, as synthetic materials based on electromagnetic structures; is involved in creating linear and non-linear, as well as bifurcation and parametric metamaterials, re-configured left-hand transmission functions, ultra-compact resonators using a gigantic kinetic inductance and hybrid metamaterials. The general line of research turned out to be at the forefront of contemporary development of a wide range of metamaterials and a special area of superconductive electronic engineering.

In 2014, members of the Russian Quantum Center and the Laboratory of Superconductive Metamaterials under the direction of Professor Ustinov were the first ones in Russia to measure the features of q-bit. In May 2015, the superconductive q-bit was for the first time created in Russia. There are only 4 laboratories in Russia, including NUST MISiS, that may perform experiments with q-bit.

The q-bit is the key element of future quantum computers operating thanks to quantum physics effects. It is capable of performing computations that the most powerful modern computers cannot perform. The creation of a quantum computer will allow using brand new information and technology systems. Quantum computational devices enable performing a wide range of tasks, such as the synthesis of materials with the desired properties, integrated tasks of sorting, optimizing and recognizing images, as well as the modelling of quantum systems. The majority of such tasks cannot be performed with the help of ordinary computers.

Ustinov Alexey Valentinovich
Head of laboratory

alexey.ustinov@kit.edu

+7 495 638-46-46

Ключевая информация о лаборатории:

Сверхпроводящие метаматериалы — это искусственные структуры с удивительными электромагнитными свойствами, не существующими в природных материалах. Основные направления работы лаборатории — экспериментальные исследования электромагнитных свойств сверхпроводящих метаматериалов в диапазоне сверхвысоких частот с использованием одномерных и двумерных структур.

Деятельность лаборатории:

Лаборатория создана в 2011 году в результате победы НИТУ «МИСиС» в конкурсе мегагрантов Министерства образования и науки РФ. Лаборатория изучает физические свойства сверхпроводящих метаматериалов: искусственных материалов на основе электромагнитных структур; работает над созданием линейных и нелинейных, а также бифуркационных и параметрических метаматериалов, перестраиваемых леворуких линий передачи, ультра-компактных резонаторов, использующих гигантскую кинетическую индуктивность, гибридных метаматериалов. Общее направление исследований оказалось на переднем крае современного развития широкой области метаматериалов и специализированного направления сверхпроводящей электроники.

В 2014 году ученые из Российского квантового центра и лаборатории «Сверхпроводящие метаматериалы» под руководством профессора Устинова впервые в России провели измерение кубита. В мае 2015 года в России впервые создан сверхпроводящий кубит. В России существуют всего 4 лаборатории, включая НИТУ «МИСиС», способные проводить эксперименты с кубитами.

Кубиты — главный составной элемент будущих квантовых компьютеров, которые работают благодаря эффектам квантовой физики. Они смогут выполнять вычисления, которые недоступны даже самым мощным современным компьютерам. Создание квантового компьютера позволит использовать принципиально новые информационно-технологические системы. Квантовые вычислительные устройства позволят решать широкий спектр задач, таких, как синтез материалов с желаемыми свойствами, сложные задачи сортировки, оптимизации и распознавания образов, а также моделирование квантовых систем. Большую часть таких задач невозможно решить на обычных классических компьютерах.